Arkansas Energy Office

Utilities in Arkansas

Arkansas has 41 gas and electric utilities: four investor-owned electric utilities, one generation and transmission cooperative utility, and eighteen cooperatives that make up the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas. Arkansas also has four companies that sell natural gas. All of these utilities are regulated by the Arkansas Public Service Commission (APSC). Also there are 15 municipal utilities which are not regulated by the APSC.